In today’s day and age it is important to know your responsibilities as a driver, the consequences of your actions, and the impact of the legal system. From state to state, laws can differ greatly, and Oregon is one state that’s particularly famous for its more severe stipulations when it comes to drinking and driving.
Some things to be aware of when it comes to crimes related to drinking and driving, whether you are a local or a tourist in the state of Oregon, are as follows:
- The first time you are taken into custody for driving under the influence in the State of Oregon, you will receive a one year license suspension. While under suspension, you will spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail or be ordered to serve 80 hours of community service.
- A minimum of $1,000 will be fined for your first DUI in Oregon
- The State of Oregon does not permit the operation of a motor vehicle by a driver with a .08 percent or above blood-alcohol concentration(BAC)
If faced with a DUI arrest, whether you live in Oregon, Hawaii, or Florida, it is important to get a criminal defense attorney to walk you through the process. In many local courts, judges and prosecutors are famous for throwing the book at DUI offenders, and there’s a strong stigma attached to drunk driving convictions.
Many criminal law firms will allow you an initial consultation with a DUI lawyer free of charge. Once you formally hire a legal representative, your new DUI defense attorney will then explain the process to make sure that your rights will be protected and that you are made aware of all the possible outcomes. Especially if you are a tourist or newcomer to your state of residence, it is highly recommended that you choose an attorney or law firm in that area. That’s important not just because laws differ from state to state, but because local lawyers will be familiar with the local judges.
Keep in mind that different states have different terms for drunk driving, including OVI (operating a vehicle under the influence, DUI, and DUIII. So what is the difference between a DUI and a DUII charge?
DUII stands for driving under the influence of intoxicants. This differs from most state laws in that it’s not only limited to the influence of alcohol consumption, but other drug use and substance abuse as well. All forms of impairment are equally as illegal, and that is again why having a good